Social Housing Volunteer Awards

Last updated: 10 August 2018

These awards publicly acknowledge an individual tenant or a group of tenants who contribute positively to their community.

Frances Penington Award

The Frances Penington Award celebrates an individual public or community housing tenant, or a group of tenants, who have made an outstanding voluntary contribution to their community.

The award honours the late Frances Penington who, as a Commissioner of the Housing Commission, was the first woman appointed to the board of a statutory authority in Victoria. She was also a strong advocate for women in housing estates and was active in building and supporting the tenant community and sparking community involvement.

Read about the previous Frances Penington award winners.

Molly Hadfield Award

The Molly Hadfield Award honours outstanding services to older tenants.

The award is named after the late Mary (Molly) Hadfield OAM, who was a dedicated advocate for public housing tenants. She was also a founding member of the Housing for the Aged Action Group, which formed in 1983.

See the previous Molly Hadfield award winners.

Nominate someone for an award

Nominations for the 2017 Frances Penington and Molly Hadfield awards closed on Friday 15 December 2017.

More information

For more information about the awards:

Was this page useful?

Back to top